Al Ahly, Zamalek in separate groups in African Champions League draw

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) held the group stage draw for the Champions League and the Confederation Cup at their headquarters in Cairo on Tuesday.

’s representatives in Africa’s top-tier competition, Al Ahly and Zamalek, won’t play each other in the group stage as they were drawn in separate groups.

Group A will see eight-times record African Champions League winners Al Ahly face ASEC Mimosas, Zesco and North African Wydad Casablanca who knocked out titleholders TP Mazembe of the competition’s round of 16.

Egypt’s other representative Zamalek were seeded in Group B alongside ’s ES Setif, Enyimba and Mamelodi Sundowns who replaced AS Vita after they were disqualified for fielding an ineligible player in their preliminary round match against Mafunzo of Zanzibar.

READ | Martin Jol prefers facing Zamalek over other African sides

The group stage will kick off by mid-June, while the last round is set to be played towards the end of August.

Each team will play the rest of the team’s in the group home and away, with the winners and runners-up of each group proceeding to the competition’s semi-final.

The Red Devils reached the group stage after drawing against Young Africans in and then beating them at home, while the White Knights advanced after beating MO Béjaïa 3-1 on aggregate.

Group A: Al Ahly (Egypt), Wydad (), ASEC Mimosas (Ivory Coast), Zesco (Zambia).

Group B: ES Setif (Algeria), Zamalek (Egypt), Enyimba (Nigeria), Sundowns (South Africa).

In the Confederation Cup, Algeria’s MO Béjaïa, who were eliminated from the Champions League after losing to Zamalek, were drawn against Young Africans, TP Mazembe and Ghana’s Medeama in Group A.

The other group is comprised of four North African teams as Morocco’s two representatives FUS Rabat and Kawkab Marrakech were paired together with ’s Etoile du Sahel and Al-Ahli Tripoli of Libya, who knocked out Egypt’s Misr El-Maqassa from the competition.

Group A: MO Bejaia (Algeria), Young Africans (Tanzania), TP Mazembe (DR Congo), Medeama (Ghana).

Group B: Kawkab Marrakech (Morocco), Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia), FUS Rabat (Morocco), Al-Ahli Tripoli (Libya).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *